Back to All Events

Stand Out Prints 2016

Highpoint's International Juried Exhibition

On View: September 16, 2016 – October 15, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016 from 6:30 pm – 9:00 pm


Highpoint Center for Printmaking is pleased to present Stand Out Prints, Highpoint's second international juried print exhibition. 72 prints and objects (by 64 artists across four countries and 27 states) were selected from more than 800 submissions through an international call. Juror Elizabeth Wyckoff, Curator of Prints, Drawings and Photographs at the Saint Louis Art Museum, offered the following remarks:

As I studied the strong field of entries, I was excited to see so many artists approaching new and old media in intriguing ways, and working on a large scale as well. The field of entries was impressive and varied, and in the end it was my hope that the show would convey a sense of how this group of artists is tackling a range of issues both familiar and unfamiliar, where the primary aim could be pictorial, personal, conceptual, or political, alone or in combination. All of these works demonstrate how art, whether it shocks or pleases, always moves the viewer.

The public is invited to an opening reception on Friday, September 16, from 6:30 – 9 pm. At this free event, guests will have the opportunity to mingle, tour HP’s printshop, and enjoy beverages and hors d’oeuvres. Stand Out Prints Juror Elizabeth Wyckoff will give brief remarks that evening at 7 pm.

Selected Artists:

  • Hend Al-Mansour*
  • Martin Azevedo
  • Joan Dix Blair
  • Anne Burton
  • Myles Calvert
  • Helen Cantrell**
  • Nick Conbere
  • Briar Craig*
  • David Curcio
  • Claudia Danielson
  • Andrew DeCaen**
  • Beth Fein
  • Justyne Fischer**
  • Mallory Glazer
  • Ruthann Godollei**
  • Jessica Gondek
  • Vanessa Hall-Patch
  • Ellen Heck
  • M. Benjamin Herndon
  • Yuji Hiratsuka
  • John Holmgren
  • Robert Howsare
  • Sarah Hulsey
  • Su-Li Hung
  • David Johnson
  • Joshua Johnson
  • Nina Jordan
  • Joshua Kolbow
  • Solveig Landa
  • Mario Laplante
  • Diego Lasansky
  • Tony Lazorko
  • Jim Lee
  • Emily Lombardo
  • Amanda Maciuba
  • Judy Major-Girardin
  • Michelle Martin**
  • Lynsey Nelson**
  • Kristin Powers Nowlin
  • Hannah O'Toole
  • Edie Overturf
  • Nathan Pietrykowski
  • Dana Potter
  • Karen Riley
  • Benjamin Rinehart
  • Kent Rush
  • Clare Samani
  • Jenny Schmid
  • Sarah Serio
  • Mark Sisson
  • Laurie Sloan
  • Jim Snitzer
  • Nicole Soley
  • Mike Sonnichsen
  • Zach Stensen
  • Mike Stephens**
  • Jessica Tao
  • Linda Taynahza
  • Breanne Trammell**
  • Peter Van Ael
  • Lyz Wendland
  • Linda Whitney
  • Laura Widmer**
  • Maryanna Williams
  • Josh Winkler

* Stand Out Prize
**Juror's Award

About the Juror – Elizabeth Wyckoff is the Curator of Prints, Drawings and Photographs at the Saint Louis Art Museum. She worked previously at the Davis Museum and Cultural Center, Wellesley College, the New York Public Library, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art. She received her PhD from Columbia University with a specialization in early 17th-century Dutch prints.

Later Event: October 8
Paper Work