Back to All Events

Stand Out Prints 2014

Highpoint's International Juried Exhibition

On View: September 5, 2014 – October 4, 2014
Opening Reception: Friday, September 5, 6:30 – 9 pm
Gallery Talk with the Juror: September 5 at 7 pm


Highpoint Center for Printmaking is pleased to present Stand Out Prints, Highpoint’s second juried print exhibition. 67 prints (by 64 artists across four countries and 23 states) were selected from more than 800 submissions through an international call.

Juror Susan Tallman, art historian and Editor-in-Chief of Art in Print remarked, “The prints chosen for this show exhibit a particular kind of attention to locations and moments in time, like a finger urgently pointed to say, “here.”  This quality flies in the face of what we know about our world—the exponential proliferation of pixels without location, images without context, places without substance. But printed matter has always had a magical ability to be both here and there, a thing you hold and a thing you hold in mind. That is what these prints capture.”

The public is invited to an opening reception on Friday, September 5, from 6:30 – 9 pm. At this free event, guests will have the opportunity to mingle, tour HP’s printshop, and enjoy beverages and hors d’oeuvres. Stand Out Prints Juror Susan Tallman will give a gallery talk that evening at 7 pm.

Images from the Exhibition are available on our Flickr page.

Selected Artists:

  • Christopher Alday^^
  • Joanna Anos
  • Frances Ashforth
  • Elise Auger
  • David Avery
  • Nate Bartley
  • Shirley Bernstein
  • Allison Bianco
  • Joan Dix Blair
  • Nancy Bolan
  • Ian Brown
  • Mark Brueggeman
  • Joshua Butler
  • Pamela Carberry
  • Liz Chalfin*
  • Libby Clarke
  • Nick Conbere
  • Claudia Danielson*
  • Justin Diggle
  • Colleen Donohoe
  • Robert Dorlac
  • Bob Erickson
  • Elizabeth Ferrill^^^
  • Jill Fitterer
  • Kevin Frances
  • Eric Goldberg
  • Karinna Gomez*
  • Vanessa Hall-Patch
  • Sarah Hartman
  • Florin Hategan
  • Amber Heaton*
  • John Holmgren
  • Anita Hunt
  • Nina Jordan*
  • Amanda Lee^^^^
  • Ja Young Lee
  • Leon Loughridge
  • Jeremy Lundquist
  • Joseph Lupo
  • Amanda Maciuba
  • Nichole Maury
  • Kate McQuillen
  • Margot Myers
  • Pieter Myers
  • Paulette Myers-Rich*
  • Gary Olson^
  • Samuel Orosz
  • Mary Ott
  • Faye Passow
  • Sumi Perera
  • Bruce Pollock
  • DeAnn Prosia
  • Clifton Riley*
  • Jenny Robinson
  • Ricardo Ruiz
  • Bill Salzillo
  • Nick Satinover
  • Merrill Shatzman
  • Anh Ta
  • Clara Ueland
  • Ericka Walker
  • Laura Widmer
  • Cleo Wilkinson
  • David Wolske

About the Juror – Susan Tallman is an art historian who has written extensively on the history and culture of the print, as well as on issues of authenticity, reproduction and multiplicity. She is Editor-in-Chief of the international journal and website Art in Print, and her writing has appeared in Art in AmericaParkettPublic Art ReviewArt on PaperPrint QuarterlyArts Magazine and many other publications. Her books include The Contemporary Print: from Pre-Pop to Postmodern (Thames and Hudson), The Collections of Barbara Bloom (Steidl), and numerous museum catalogues. She has lived and worked in New York, Amsterdam and Berlin, and currently teaches in the Departments of Printmedia and Art History, Theory and Criticism at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Denotes Juror Award (Cash)
Denotes Juror Award (Takach Press Corp. Gift Certificate)
^^ Denotes Juror Award (Wet Paint Artists' Materials Gift Certificate)
^^^ Denotes Juror Award (Graphic Chemical & Ink Co. Gift Certificate)
^^^^ Denotes Juror Award (Northwest Graphic Supply Gift Certificate)